Thursday, April 11, 2013

Book Acquired: Everything Matters! by Ron Currie, Jr.



Another book that's been on my TBR list for a long time is Ron Currie, Jr.'s Everything Matters!, published by Penguin in 2009. In a fit of book-buying that also included Denis Johnson's Jesus' Son, I bought myself a brand new copy of this baby.
In this novel rich in character, Junior Thibodeau grows up in rural Maine in a time of Atari, baseball cards, pop Catholicism, and cocaine. He also knows something no one else knows-neither his exalted parents, nor his baseball-savant brother, nor the love of his life (she doesn't believe him anyway): The world will end when he is thirty-six. While Junior searches for meaning in a doomed world, his loved ones tell an all-American family saga of fathers and sons, blinding romance, lost love, and reconciliation-culminating in one final triumph that reconfigures the universe. A tour de force of storytelling, Everything Matters! is a genre-bending potpourri of alternative history, sci-fi, and the great American tale in the tradition of John Irving and Margaret Atwood.
Margaret Atwood and John Irving, y'all!  Sounds AWESOME, eh?

Ron Currie, Jr.'s most recent novel is Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles, published by Viking last February.  The reviews were good, so maybe I'll read it after Everything Matters!

As you were...

No comments: